How to Get a DWI Bail Bond if You’re Arrested in San Antonio for Drunk Driving

Bexar County DWI bail bond

Even if you’re a San Antonio police officer arrested for driving while intoxicated, you’re going to need a DWI bail bond. Officer Rodney Tubergen, was arrested for DWI at 3 a.m. on June 11, 2018. The arrest has the 27 year veteran of the SAPD on administrative leave pending a criminal investigation. It’s a rare occurrence, but even a police officer can get arrested for driving while intoxicated and need a bail bond to get out of the Bexar County Jail.

Texas officially uses the term “driving while intoxicated” (DWI) instead of “driving under the influence” (DUI). However, some people still use DWI and DUI interchangeably to refer to drunk or drugged driving.

DWI Bail Bond Information:

Getting arrested for a DWI is a serious crime and it will take some time to get your court date and trial, so it’s important to get a bail bond so that you can get out of the Bexar County Jail to go to work and make the money you’ll need to pay for an attorney and fines.

Texas laws prohibit all motorists from operating a motor vehicle under the following situations:

• If the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more.
• If the driver is intoxicated by drugs or alcohol and lacks the normal use of mental or physical faculties.

If a someone you know has been arrested on a DWI charge in San Antonio and needs a bail bond to get out of jail, we can help! The bail set by the judge will be based on whether or not this is the first, second, or third offense.

1st DWI Offense: 72 hours to six months in jail (12-month maximum with BAC of .15% or more), fines up to $2,000 (or up to $4,000 with BAC .15% or more), and a suspended license for 90 days to 12 months.

2nd DWI Offense: 30 days to 12 months in jail, fines up to $4000, a suspended license for 180 days to 2 years, and a Ignition Interlock Device for 1 year (with a prior conviction within 5 years).

3rd DWI Offense: Jail time of 2 to 10 years, fines up to $10,000, license suspension of 180 days to 2 years, and a Ignition Interlock Device for 1 year (with a prior conviction within 5 years).

Need a bail bond for a DWI? Call us 24 hours a day at (210) 463-5561.