Can You Get Arrested for Indecent Exposure in Texas?

Texas indecent exposure law

Sexual harassment laws in Texas typically refer to workplace situations, but you can be arrested and charged with indecent exposure by committing lewd public acts. Magistrates will typically allow the defendant to post bond while awaiting trial if you are not a risk for violence or flight.

Recently a young man was arrested in San Antonio for performing lewd acts in front of 6 different women over the course of 5 months. He was charged with three counts of indecent exposure and his bail was set at $7,000. Typically, a bail bondsman will write bail for 10-15% of the total bail set by the magistrate. So in this case of indecent exposure, a bail bond would likely cost at least $700.

Texas Law on Indecent Exposure

The Texas Penal Code says that a person commits indecent exposure if he exposes his anus or any part of his genitals with intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person, and he is reckless about whether another is present who will be offended or alarmed by his act.

Indecent exposure is a Class B misdemeanor which is punishable by a maximum of 180 days in the Bexar County Jail, and / or a $2,000 fine.

10 Examples of Indecent Exposure That Resulted in Arrest in Texas

  1. Pulling up shorts high enough to expose himself.
  2. Lifting dress in public and exposed private parts to young kids.
  3. Taking improper pictures inside bathrooms.
  4. Pleasuring himself in front of women while sitting in a car in the nude.
  5. Masturbating in hospital lobby.
  6. Four men charged with sexual activity in a park.
  7. Stripped naked and strolled through store.
  8. Showing genitals at a public pool.
  9. Pulled down his pants, exposing his anus and genitals.
  10. Sexual indecency with a child.

In most cases, a judge will set bond for someone arrested for indecent exposure. If convicted, you will be registered with the Texas Public Sex Offender Registry, which will require you to register whenever you move. It will restrict where you can live and work. Failure to register can result in a felony under Megan’s Law in Texas.