A Class B misdemeanor is detailed in Texas Penal Code § 12.22 and is a serious crime that can follow you the rest of your life. Convictions of a Class B misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum of 180 days in county jail, and / or a $2,000 fine.
Examples of Class B Misdemeanors in Texas include:
DWI (Driving while intoxicated) first offense
Evading arrest on foot
Failure to pay child support
False reports to a police officer and false 911 calls
Minor drug possession
Texas Law Allows for Increased Sentencing Requirements for Certain Class B Misdemeanors.
- Statute of Limitations: A misdemeanor in Texas has a statute of limitations of two years.
- Repeat offenses: If a person is charged with a Class B misdemeanor, a second offense may be charged as a Class A misdemeanor, which is a much more serious charge with a punishment of up to a $4000 fine and/or imprisonment of up to one year in a county jail.
- Deferred adjudication: This is a sentencing alternative that your attorney may be able to get you for some misdemeanor offenses after a period of probation. It does not remove the record from your history and can be found on a background check by an employer or housing application.
- Juvenile convictions: Often, a teen will be sentenced to diversion, a type of informal probation that allows a juvenile to avoid probation officers. You can learn more about juvenile law on the TDACC website.
In Texas, you can ask to have your criminal record expunged after one year if you’ve been arrested, acquitted, or your case has been dismissed. If the person arrested is between 10 and 16 years old, they can be required to enter the juvenile justice system, which will not allow the arrest on their record after they are an adult.
Since a Class B misdemeanor is a very serious crime, you will need an attorney, and you will most likely require a bail bond to get out of jail. At McRae Bail Bonds, we’re here to help you navigate the complicated scenarios surrounding an arrest on a Class B misdemeanor. Just give us a call at (210) 463-5561 if you need a bail bond in San Antonio.